Dissertation Days (33): On the Cusp

Well, today wasn't a terribly productive day. Had a bit of a gall bladder attack last night that really disturbed my sleep, so I've been a bit out of it all day. However, I did accomplish what I set out to do, which was to read through the whole chapter and make sure that all … Continue reading Dissertation Days (33): On the Cusp

Advertisements

Dissertation Days (31): Work, Work, Work

Overall, I think this was a better work day than yesterday. I actually managed to go beyond my 1,000 word goal for Chapter 4, and my re-reading of Chapter 3 made me feel like it's not total dreck after all. Of course, that could be the caffeine talking, but I do like to think that … Continue reading Dissertation Days (31): Work, Work, Work

Reading History: “The Confessions of Young Nero” (by Margaret George)

The release of a new novel by Margaret George is an event that occurs every six years or so. The author of such well-known works of historical fiction as The Memoirs of Cleopatra and The Autobiography of Henry VIII is well-known for her extraordinary detail in her magisterial works of historical fiction, in which she inhabits not just the mind … Continue reading Reading History: “The Confessions of Young Nero” (by Margaret George)

Reading History: “Lady of the Eternal City”

I have been following the writing career of Kate Quinn since her debut novel Mistress of Rome caught my eye at a local Wegman's.  I'm always hungry for a new historical novel about ancient Rome, particularly one in the vein of I, Claudius and other delicious costume dramas that explore the sexual and viscerally violent politics of ancient Roman … Continue reading Reading History: “Lady of the Eternal City”