Reading History: “Mary, Called Magdalene” (by Margaret George)

Since finishing The Confessions of the Young Nero, the most recent literary outing from historical fiction author Margaret George, I've found myself possessed of the desire to re-read her entire oeuvre, beginning with the two novels of hers that I haven't read. So, I started with Mary, Called Magdalene.  In another life, I was passionately interested in the history of … Continue reading Reading History: “Mary, Called Magdalene” (by Margaret George)

Advertisements

Reading History: “The Confessions of Young Nero” (by Margaret George)

The release of a new novel by Margaret George is an event that occurs every six years or so. The author of such well-known works of historical fiction as The Memoirs of Cleopatra and The Autobiography of Henry VIII is well-known for her extraordinary detail in her magisterial works of historical fiction, in which she inhabits not just the mind … Continue reading Reading History: “The Confessions of Young Nero” (by Margaret George)

Reading History: “The Conqueror’s Wife” (Stephanie Thornton)

As readers of this blog know, I have a voracious appetite for historical fiction set in the ancient world. Fortunately for me, Stephanie Thornton has again released a fantastic tale, this time focused on the men and women surrounding that most powerful of ancient generals, Alexander the Great.  With The Conqueror's Wife, Thornton takes her place alongside Mary … Continue reading Reading History: “The Conqueror’s Wife” (Stephanie Thornton)

Reading History: “Lady of the Eternal City”

I have been following the writing career of Kate Quinn since her debut novel Mistress of Rome caught my eye at a local Wegman's.  I'm always hungry for a new historical novel about ancient Rome, particularly one in the vein of I, Claudius and other delicious costume dramas that explore the sexual and viscerally violent politics of ancient Roman … Continue reading Reading History: “Lady of the Eternal City”